History- USS Freedom


The history of the USS FREEDOM starts in October 1992 when a group of members from the USS STARWARD FURY decided that it was time to form another chapter. The group elected Lieutenant Paul Dyl as the groups leader and Commander Raymond Quinones as his assistant. After the group petitioned the USS STARWARD FURY to be there Support Ship and consequently being denied because of ill feelings between the two groups, the group petitioned the USS STAR LEAGUE from North Augusta, SC to be the Support Ship.

Vice Admiral Cindy Krell was the commanding officer of the USS STAR LEAGUE at the time. Her and her crew opened their arms to us and in October 1992 the group officially became known as the Shuttle Braxton-Bragg.

For the first nine months the chapter organized itself into a very organized and productive chapter. The Shuttle Braxton-Bragg primarily operated on Fort Bragg, North Carolina as an official club approved by the Fort Bragg Garrison Commander. During these nine months the chapter grew from the original size of 16 to 32 before she was commissioned 9 months after her launch.  The chapter participated in numerous events supporting such activities as the Fort Bragg Youth Program, The base recycling efforts, The Angel Tree Project, Campbell Soup Labells for Education, and numerous food drives to name just a few. Members also participated in several Star Trek Convention Security details for the Trek O Rama conventions.

On July 4, 1993 with Vice Admiral Cindy Krell present, the Shuttle Braxton-Bragg was officially commissioned as the USS FREEDOM NCC-71817 under the command of Captain Paul Dyl and Commander Raymond Quinones as the First Officer. The following months saw great growth and activity. The chapter conducted several camping trips, participated I the Fort Bragg Youth Services Anniversary celebration, and Actress Ellen Bethea who had been a Youth Counselor at Fort Bragg was made an Honorary Member of the chapter.

In November 1993, Captain Paul Dyl was reassigned for a short tour to South Korea so the chapter conducted its first CO/XO elections with Captain Raymond Quinones being elected as the new Commanding Officer and Commander Patricia Fryer being the First Officer. This was also the time the chapter had its first shuttle called the Shuttle Lynx, commanded by Captain Paul Dyl with Commander Dawn Dyl as the First Officer. The Shuttle Lynx became a correspondence chapter and was the first chapter ever to be in South Korea.

Under the command of Captain Quinones, the chapter moved more towards the fun aspects of the chapter.  More events such as swimming activities, movies, Star Trek TV nights, camping and community service activities were planned.

In July 1994 the chapters first shuttle was officially commissioned as the USS LYNX and upon Captain Dyl’s return from his overseas duty, Fort Bragg became home to both the USS FREEDOM and the USS LYNX.

In November 1995, the USS FREEDOM conducted its second elections for Commanding Officer and First Officer.  Captain Patricia Fry was elected as the new Commanding Officer.

It was during this time that the chapter shifted further away from formal business like activities and became more of a social get together. This continued into 1996 and the situation became worse with the problems happening in STARFLEET. The chapter decided to change the class of vessel from the Galaxy Class to the Defiant Class and with the STARFLEET elections concluding, the chapter decided to leave STARFLEET and become its own independent club in January 1997. Also during this time personal struggles and turmoil spilled over into the club and within several months the chapter began to disband.

In an attempt to save the chapter, Captain Brian Allen took command of the USS FREEDOM and returned it back into STARFLEEET for a few more years, but with a much smaller crew then before.

In 2003, after the events of September 11, 2001 the chapter was officially decommissioned after numerous members who were military began deploying overseas and the chapter was no longer a priority at the time.

In July 2014, members of the USS Helen Pawlowski decided that the chapter was just too big and decided to take on the challenges of starting a new chapter. Some of these members had actually been crewmembers of the original USS FREEDOM. On August 24, 2014, the USS FREEDOM NCC-71817 was officially launched with the Station Robert De Bruce and Rear Admiral Barry Jackson as the station commander as the USS Freedom’s support chapter.

Many members also participate in our numerous community service activities such as the Campbell Soup Labels for Education, Care packages to our troops overseas, Toys for Tots, and the Christmas Angel Tree.


During her history, the USS FREEDOM has had members serve outside the chapter at Regional and Fleet level positions. The following are just a few:

EC Member:

Commodore Paul Dyl—SFA Commandant (1996)


Fleet Captain Raymond Quinones-Director, Cadet Academy (1996)

Captain James Lee-Director, Starship Operations (1996-1998)

Captain Brian Allen-Director, Security School (1996)

Commodore Paul Dyl– Director, School of Strategy and Tactics (1995-1996)

Captain Eddie Riddle- Chief of Staff to the Commandant SFA (1996)

Captain Robin Fleming- SFA Assistant Academic Coordinator (2018-2020)

Captain Robin Fleming- Assistant Dean:

  • Institute of Science IOSC (2017-2020)
  • Institute of History and Government IOHG (2017-2020)
  • Institute of Space Studies(2017-2020)

Captain Robin Fleming- Director:

  • College of Acoustic Technology (2017-2020)
  • College of Astronomy (2017-2020)
  • College of Laser Technology (2017-2020)
  • College of Law Enforcement Assets and Resources (2017-2020)
  • College of Politics and Government Trivia (2017-2020)
  • College of Geographical Science (2018-2020)
  • College of Oceanography (2017-2020)
  • College of Rocketry and Propulsion (2016-2020)
  • College of Sports Movies (2017-2020)
  • Captain Robin Fleming- Assistant Director:
  • College of Geographical Science (2017-2020)
  • College of Psychological Perspectives (2017-2020)

Commander Shaun Smith- Director, College of Plasma Technology (2017-2019)

Commander Dave Purks- Director:

  • IOMA: CSME (2018-Present)
  • IOLSS: COIB (2018-Present)
  • IOMA: SMPR (2018-Present)

SFMC Academy:

Captain Robin Fleming- Director, Infantry Branch (2017-2020)


Captain Robin Fleming- MACO Certification Officer (2017-2018)


Captain Paul Dyl- R1 Quartermaster (1993-1994)

Previous Commanding Officers

Captain Paul C Dyl
199210.01 – 199311.30

Captain Raymond Quinonnes
199312.01 – 199511.30

Captain Patricia Fry
199512.01 – 199701.30

Captain Brian Allen
? – ?

Captain Heather Fikes
201408.24 – 201806.04

Commodore Robin Fleming
201806.05 – 202001.21

Commander Dave Purks
202001.21 – 202002.07
(Acting Commanding Officer)

Captain William Ramsay
202002.09 – Present

The USS Freedom recognizes her fallen crewmembers

Commodore Robin Fleming
1960 – 2020